Delayed ang flight, may lesson ba?…DONT QUIT!

Me: Excuse me Sir, is this seat taken?

Sir: Nope (smiles and budges)

Me: Thank you (smiling at him)

Silence…

Hmmm…

I was so sleepy so I fell asleep while sitting and waiting for the boarding call…

The lady on my right, asleep.

The Sir on my left, asleep.

Most of the people around us, asleep… it’s 5:30 am at NAIA 3…

Voice:

Attention all passengers for (name of airline) Flight xxxxx, we regret to inform you that your flight is on definite hold due to bad weather at Legazpi City…

“Huwattttt????” – reactions of everyone, the same…

Staff: “Puno na po ang next flight” (my spirit dampened)

Everyone rushed to the rebooking area.

My spirit was so low…

I just went with the flow…

With all the anger and disappointments around, Sir was kind enough to help me, without me asking…

He was in front of the line, asked me why I have to go to Legazpi…

I said I have a class … without saying anything more, he got my ticket rebooked it with his…

He was especially helpful to everyone, not only me…

He helped a lady lift her big luggage, he assisted also another lady with her booking… he was a kind soul…

We went back to the waiting area, he was talking about the nature of his company, his work and his family… I listened…

He was also busy calling people in between his talks with me…

He handed me his card when I mentioned I have students from mainland China studying English Proficiency in our school…

I read the card, I was amazed… the person who went out his way to help me and the others (he even carried my bags for me, “you don’t look so well Hija, let me carry that for you” he said to me) was the VP and GM of a big outsource firm based in Philadelphia. That discovery humbled me…this was a truly simple person with a big, big  chair in his office….

After waiting some more,  we boarded the plane, at last…

We were seated together, he said, “Don’t worry Hija, you will get to your class on time”… He was like a father….I was thankful, I dozed off…tired…

The plane reached our destination on time…

He was again kind enough to assist me with my things, this time I refused… I felt he was too big a person to carry my bags…I courteously said “Its ok, Sir, I got it…”

I saw the big welcome group at the waiting area in front of the exit, they were all waving and shouting, “Andyan na si Sir! Sir! Sir!”, they were ecstatic!  He was truly an important person…

Before he walked away towards his waiting staff, he paused and told me…

“See Hija, you don’t just give up… Had we not pushed for the rebooking, you wont be teaching today and I wont be seeing these happy faces…”

Then with all sincerity, he looked in my eyes and said…

“Hija,  I can sense there is something great in you… always remember this…

Success is failure turned inside out–
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,

(he held my hand and emphasized…)
It may be near when it seems so far,
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit–
It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

Get the copy of the poem, store it in your heart and live it… ”

Then he shook my hand, waved goodbye and off he went…

I just stood there…I was digesting the details, I was trying to comprehend what happened…

Then I smiled… another angel touched my life today…Thank God… ^_^

Surreal experience today!!!

This is DONT QUIT in its entirety… may it have the same motivation to you that it gave to me…

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,

When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,

When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest, if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a failure turns about,
When he might have won had he stuck it out;
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow–
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than,
It seems to a faint and faltering man,
Often the struggler has given up,
When he might have captured the victor’s cup,
And he learned too late when the night slipped down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out–
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems so far,
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit–
It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

– Author unknown

About chilledhoney

"INVICTUS" panulat na matalinhaga, panulat na tumatama… ang kaisipan at kahulugan ay napag-iisa…. mga kaisipang minsan ay matindi at maanghang pagkawika, ngunit minsan nama’y payak, humahaplos sa kamalayan, puso at isipan…. at sa aking maikling panahong paikot ikot dito sa harding aking tambayan… oras ay di ko namamalayan… sa mga puna at palagay, ako ay nasisiyahan…. napakasarap pakawalan ang malayang kaisipan….

Posted on June 2, 2012, in FREE FLOW. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. indeed. he is really a great human being. very down to earth and positive person. i was inspired by your story honey.

    kras ko na sya!😀

    • Hi kaydee! salamat sa pagbisitang muli ^_^ . Salamat at nainspire ka din, tulad ko…

      He was really, I think, an angel in disguise….

      Coming in when I was giving up. I was actually thinking of going home na when I saw the hullaballoo at the rebooking line.. Maybe I caught his attention kasi I was the only one who was included in the group na di nagrereklamo to the highest level dun sa counter at sa staff ng airline…I was just standing and observing (actually thinking of going home nga hahahah…)

      Naku… I don’t know but… you would wish him more to be a father than be the “Kras” ^_^

      Pero come to think of it, tama ka din… I think…a person is more beautiful if the character is like that…

      Di ang physical na anyo ang titingnan…marami kasing gwapong balasubas at walang character…

      “gwapo nga kung ala namang disiplina at di marunong magpahalaga… basura pa rin sya sa paningin ko”… boom!

      Pero di masama mangarap… sana nga may tulad pa niya sa mundo, na makakabangga natin, at hindi TATAY material kundi FAFAlicious material hihihi…

      ^___^

  2. Nice one, Honey. English mode ngayon ah.

    Hmm, teaching English proficiency ka pala. So blogging in Tagalog offers you a break from your day job.

    Anyway, back to your story. Halos ganyan din ang natutunan ko sa aking buhay. Sa ilang beses kong inisip na wakasan ang hirap, may munting boses na nagsasabi din na “sige pa.” No, hindi ako schizophrenic.😛

    Cheers!

    • Naku, hindi po ako ang nagtuturo…ako ay tagapangasiwa lamang ng mga nagtuturo…

      Pero mas maayos kong naisasatitik ang aking kaisipan sa wikang kinagisnan…puso at isip kayang pag-isahin…

      Maraming salamat sa pagdagdag ng kulay sa aral na hatid ng aking karanasan…

      Ang muting tinig ay laging nandyan…
      Ang paggalaw ng Panginoon ay tunay na kahangaan…

  3. what a stranger to meet!😛

  4. theworshipwarriorbride

    bakit ako naiiyak habang nagbabasa? hahaha

    God would always find His way to exhort us when we are down (and at some point badly in pain)…

    That man is great–great in his achievements and great in character.

    Kaya mo ‘yan! aja!

    • Hi Warrior…

      When we have no more hope, when everything is against our human needs, wants, whims…

      Angels would come…unexpectedly…unannounced….

      Advance party ni Bro… para sabihing…”Keep your Faith strong”…

      God carries us through, leaving only one set of Footprints in the sand…

      • theworshipwarriorbride

        tama..hahaha…sabi ko kelan kaya ako ulit makakameet ng katulad ni “great manong” kaso kasi kahit hindi ako iyakin kapag kinamusta na ako hindi ako plastic umiiyak talaga ako nang bongga…hahaha…naiiyak ako ano ba ‘yan!

      • You are a good person that’s why… you appreciate the simplicity of God’s message…^_^

  5. all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are called according to His purpose. If the flight wasn’t cancelled you won’t be this inspired, won’t be this thankful. God just wanted to show us that life is about FAITH, life is about TRUSTING GOD ABOVE EVERYTHING ELSE. things wont always go our way but with God by our side we are sure that we are always on the right track.

    be inspired, stay inspired and inspire others…

    keep the faith. Godbless

    • Isang ALL CAPS NA “AMEN”!

      Sa iyo Rosarie,

      Akala ko ako ay binisita na ng simbahan…
      Nagpadala ng madre sa iyong katauhan….

      ^_^

      Maraming salamat sa napakagandang puna…

      Ako man ay na inspire!

      Tama ito, tama ito, tama ito….

      “If the flight wasn’t cancelled you won’t be this inspired, won’t be this thankful. ”

      I am very very thankful!

      God bless din sa iyo…

      Bisita ka muli ha?

just speak your mind

